Charles E. Carpenter Lecture & Conference Endowment

Established in 2004, the Charles E. Carpenter Lecture and Conference Endowment supports advances in professional development for community college leaders. Held each spring, the Carpenter Lecture features a nationally known speaker on a topic of importance to community colleges. In addition to current students in the community college leadership doctoral program, attendees include northwest community college leaders and members of the OSU community. Moving into its ninth year, the Carpenter Event has become a premier professional development event for community college leaders and has significantly advanced Oregon State University’s work in community college leadership.

2017 Speaker: Daniel Solorzano

"Critical Issues Along the Community College Transfer Pipeline: A Case Study of California"

Daniel SolorzanoFebruary 23, 2017 at 6:30pm at McMenamins Wilsonville Old Church & Pub in Wilsonville, OR.

Daniel Solorzano is a Professor of Social Science and Comparative Education in the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.  His teaching and research interests include critical race theory in education; racial microaggressions and other forms of everyday racism; critical race spatial analysis; and critical race pedagogy.  Over his 44-year career, Solorzano has taught at the Los Angeles County Juvenile Hall, in the California Community College (East Los Angeles College; Santa Monica College), the California State University (California State University Northridge; California State University Bakersfield), and the University of California (UCLA) Systems.  Dr. Solorzano has authored over 100 research articles and book chapters on issues related to educational access and equity for underrepresented student populations in the United States.  In 2007, Professor Solorzano received the UCLA Distinguished Teacher Award.  In 2012, Solorzano was presented the American Education Research Association (AERA) Social Justice in Education Award.  Also in 2012, Solorzano was awarded the Critical Race Studies in Education Association Derrick A. Bell Legacy Award.  In 2013, Solorzano was given the Mildred Garcia Exemplary Scholarship Award from the Association for Studies in Higher Education (ASHE).  In 2014, Solorzano was selected as a Fellow of the American Education Research Association.

Past Speakers

2016 Speaker: Betty Duvall, Professor Emerita, Oregon State University

2015 Jamie Callahan, a Professor of Human Resource Development in the School of Education at Drexel University

2014 Edward J. Ray, President, Oregon State University

2013 Richard Wagoner, Assistant Professor of Higher Education, University of California, Los Angeles

2012 Camille Preus, Commissioner of the Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Developmment of Oregon

2011 Preston Pulliams, President, Portland Community College

2010 Mary Spilde, President, Lane Community College

2009 John “Ski” Sygielski, President, Mount Hood Community College

2008 Linda Barry, Vice President, Merritt College; Susan Kostick, Vice President, Edmonds Community College; Jim Sorensen, President, Treasure Valley Community College

2007 Ron Baker, Executive Vice President, Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

2006 Cassandra Manuelito-Kerkvliet, President, Institute of American Indian Arts

2005 George Boggs, President, American Association of Community Colleges